Is Turkey a Schengen country?


People who are willing to travel throughout Europe apply for Schengen. It is the name of a visa that people should get to travel to Europe including most of the countries on the continent.


The idea was first launched in 1985. France, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg, and Netherland opened up their borders in that way. Schengen was the name of the town where the five countries agreed to it. The little town giving its name to a visa that is the most known visa regime around the world is found in Luxembourg. The borders of these countries are recognized as ‘’Schengen Area’’.


What is Schengen?

Schengen aims to border out so that the countries are able to increase the security of people who travel in the free travel area by the outline borders. The agreement consists of not only the border of the land but also air and customs in it. There is no control at the border and custom except for extraordinary situations. The visa helps people easily travel by not involving too much bureaucracy, ease transportation and communication in Europe.

There is also the advantage for the other countries which are not part of Schengen. If you plan to visit a couple of countries in Europe, Getting a multiple-access visa from one of the Schengen countries is enough to travel throughout Europe. It is possible to pass from one of the member countries without applying for a visa in each country.


Schengen Countries     

The pact includes 26 Schengen countries, 22 out of 27 European Union countries and 4 countries that are not part of the EU. Greek Republic of Southern Cyprus, Romania, Bulgaria and Croatia are not part of Schengen, even a member of the EU. The pact also contains Iceland, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, and Norway even though they are not in the EU.


Schengen countries: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Netherland, Iceland, Italy, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Letonia, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Greece.


Non-member countries but you can also travel with Schengen: Bulgaria, Croatia, Monaco, Romania, San Marino, and Vatikan


The Schengen Agreement breaking up the borders in Europe and the advantage of easy access enables 400 million Europeans to travel without being on any border. A tourist, student, and businessman who gets the visa can also benefit from the same advantage. However, Turkey is not a Schengen country. Therefore, it should be another visa for easy access. On the other hand, most Schengen countries can freely travel to Turkey on the condition of a 90-day visa-free period. Moreover, Turkey is a country where People who are living in Schengen countries prefer to live in a villa on the route of Western coast of Turkey after retirement. Unlike people who are looking for peace in their seniles, some tend to villa for sale in Istanbul located far away from the city center so that it provides easy access to reach metropolitan offerings as far as it is. Besides, Istanbul property for sale  enables some fast travel opportunities in many directions. Even if the country doesn’t offer access to Schengen, with its amazing location, Istanbul real estate for sale keeps attracting foreign people who belong to different ethnicities.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *